Skip to main content
The development of Walter Roller GmbH & CO began in 1939 with research into laminated evaporators in his parents' tinsmith's shop, before Walter Roller founded his company of the same name in 1946. For three generations now, we have been passionately developing, producing and selling innovative air cooler, air conditioners and heat exchangers for all refrigeration and air conditioning applications.

Walter Roller - The company's development

Walter Roller founds the company

In 1946, Walter Roller founded a company in Stuttgart-Gaisburg to manufacture fin systems for refrigeration technology. As an engineer, he used the existing possibilities of his parents' plumbing business. As a friend of well-known company founders in refrigeration technology such as Göldner, Baader, Bock and Schaufler, who had devoted themselves more to refrigeration machine construction, Walter Roller worked on the transmission of cooling power via various fin systems.

 

Kurt Reule takes over as commercial director

The business, which was initially run by skilled craftsmen, took off very quickly, not least due to repairs to refrigerators and cold storage facilities for the American occupation forces. Therefore, a qualified businessman was needed to handle the commercial matters, which were rather unloved by technicians, and this was found in the person of his son-in-law Kurt Reule (left).

 

New residence in Gerlingen

At the Stuttgart location, the space resources were exhausted, so that work could be generously continued in Gerlingen with the construction of an approx. 6000m² manufacturing hall. By 1960, the site had been expanded in eleven construction phases to 17,000m².

 

Manufacture of the first high-performance evaporator

The first HV high-performance evaporator with built-in fans and HVT evaporators with the self-developed wire heater defrosting system for the deep-freeze sector are manufactured and meet with an outstanding response from refrigeration system manufacturers.

 

Successes also in exports

The products also sold well abroad. First in the neighbouring countries - the air coolers were very popular. Partnerships with the trade and plant construction emerged.

 

Expansion of the product range

Customers place more and more value on tailored solutions. This is how heat exchanger geometries and special air coolers are created, some of which still exist today.

 

Development of air conditioning units

The American occupation troops stationed in the Baden-Württemberg area were used to air-conditioned rooms. So Roller developed the first air conditioning units with up to 15 kW cooling capacity.

 

Ceiling air coolers gain popularity

With the introduction of the ceiling-mounted air cooler for small cold rooms, Roller has triggered a trend for flat evaporators. The innovative highlight is the variable use as a ceiling or wall unit.

 

The HVS: the symbol for Roller air coolers

For many customers, the proven HVS high-performance evaporator, suction, is synonymous with Roller quality. There was continuous further development and in 1983 a major expansion of the product range. In-house produced fans were used.

 

Joachim Reule joins the company

Joachim Reule, grandson of the company founder Walter Roller, joins the company. Thus, the third generation of the family is active in the company.

 

Expansion of the Gerlingen site

The economy is running at full speed, so the increased tasks require a new building for administration, reception and training.

 

Mourning for company founder Walter Roller

A pioneer of refrigeration technology, who was dedicated to the prosperity of the company until the end, dies at the age of 83. The great tinkerer and technician leaves his successors the aspiration to continue offering customers efficient products that are reliable in the long term. Joachim Reule takes on this task as the new managing director.

 

Development of the FHV/T series

To meet the dynamically growing market, Roller develops the modular FHV/T air cooler series.

 

First digital selection programme

With the introduction of the digital selection programme, Roller offers the possibility of an precise product design according to individual requirements at an early stage.

 

Increased performance due to inner finned tubes

The use of inner grooved tubes increases the performance of the evaporator series by an average of 30%.

 

Change in the Management Board

Kurt Reule retires after more than 45 years of successful work as Managing Director. Werner Rose, a long-time member of the Executive Board, is appointed as another Managing Director besides Joachim Reule.

 

Certified performance from the very first hour

Trust and quality are the most important attributes of a good business relationship. Roller underlines this demand by getting its product data certified by the independent Eurovent certification programme. And this has been the case since the programme's inception.

 

Upgrade to EC ventilator technology

Roller is one of the first air cooler manufacturers to upgrade its entire evaporator range to energy-efficient EC fan technology. Following the company's philosophy: "High performance with minimum energy consumption".

 

Complete corrosion protection for commercial refrigeration

The different types of corrosion have long been underestimated in commercial refrigeration. Roller is the first company to implement a broad range of standard corrosion protection for these applications.

 

New warehouse and logistics centre opened

The logistics centre with its high rack warehouse ensures high availability and rapid dispatch of many evaporator series and sizes, as well as urgent spare parts.

 

Design type test for heat exchangers

Roller is the first manufacturer to receive a type examination for heat exchangers from TÜV. This certifies the high efficiency of closed-loop systems.

 

Roller also cools in maritime applications

Food cooling and air-conditioning tasks are also reliably carried out at sea. For the AIDA club ships, air coolers for all cold rooms on board are manufactured in a special hygienic design.

 

Plug and Play

Roller makes it easy for its customers and installs the control system at the factory on request. This guarantees quick and easy start-up and maximum energy efficiency of the system.

 

Own foothold in Asia

The sales activities in Asia have a long, successful history, which are now being continued with a joint venture as Roller Thailand Ltd in Bangkok.

 

Krenn complements management

Wolfgang Krenn (centre), sales manager for many years, takes over the managing director position from Werner Rose (right), who is retiring. Until today, the company is managed by Joachim Reule (left) and Wolfgang Krenn.

 

Expansion of production capacity at Plant II

Plant II with its assembly lines for the DLK and HVS evaporator series goes into operation. The aim is to maintain a continuous stock of units available at short notice in the Roller warehouse.

 

Optimiertes Lamellensystem für CO2 Tiefkühlanwendungen

Für den Einsatz von CO2 in der Tiefkühlung entwickelt Roller ein optimiertes Wärmetauscher System für Verdampfer, das den spezifischen Anforderungen des CO2s (PS 80bar!) an kleine Rohrdurchmesser von 9,52 mm, gepaart mit einem maximalen Lamellenabstand von 12 mm entspricht.

Roller, today and tomorrow

As an internationally active family business with headquarters in Gerlingen near Stuttgart, Walter Roller has stood for quality, performance and trusting partnership for 75 years. As a future-oriented traditional company, we will continue to take responsibility for our future with our wide range of energy-efficient heat exchanger products, from furnature evaporators to industrial air coolers.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen
Die Entwicklung der Walter Roller GmbH & CO beginnt 1939 mit der Erforschung von lamellierten Verdampfern in der elterlichen Flaschnerei, bevor Walter Roller 1946 sein gleichlautendes Unternehmen gründet. Seit nunmehr drei Generationen entwickeln, produzieren und vertreiben wir mit Herzblut innovative Verdampfer, Klimageräte und Wärmetauscher für alle kälte- und klimatechnischen Anwendungen.

Walter Roller - Die Unternehmensentwicklung

Walter Roller gründet das Unternehmen

1946 gründete Walter Roller in Stuttgart-Gaisburg eine Firma zur Herstellung von Lamellensystemen für die Kältetechnik. Als Ingenieur nutzte er die bestehenden Möglichkeiten des vorhandenen elterlichen Flaschnereibetriebes. Als Freund bekannter Firmengründer in der Kältetechnik wie Göldner, Baader, Bock und Schaufler, die sich mehr dem Kältemaschinenbau verschrieben hatten, tüftelte Walter Roller an der Übertragung von Kälteleistung über verschiedene Lamellensysteme.

Kaufmännische Leitung übernimmt Kurt Reule

Der zunächst handwerkliche Betrieb nahm einen sehr raschen Aufschwung, nicht zuletzt durch Reparaturen an Kühlschränken und Kühlhäusern der amerikanischen Besatzungstruppen. Deshalb war zur Abwicklung der für Techniker eher ungeliebten kaufmännischen Belange ein qualifizierter Kaufmann nötig und in Person seines Schwiegersohnes Kurt Reule (links) gefunden.

Neue Heimat in Gerlingen

Am Standort in Stuttgart waren die räumlichen Ressourcen aufgebraucht, so dass in Gerlingen mit der Erstellung einer ca. 6000m² Fabrikationshalle großzügig weitergearbeitet werden konnte. Bis 1960 wird das Grundstück in elf Bauabschnitten auf 17000m² erweitert.

Fertigung erster Hochleistungsverdampfer

Der erste Hochleistungsverdampfer HV mit eingebauten Ventilatoren, sowie im Tiefkühlbereich HVT-Verdampfer mit der selbst entwickelten Heizdrahtabtauung werden gefertigt und finden überragenden Anklang bei den Kälteanlagenbauern.

Erfolge auch im Export

Auch im Ausland verkauften sich die Produkte gut. Zunächst in den angrenzenden Nachbarstaaten - die Luftkühler waren sehr beliebt. Partnerschaften zum Handel und Anlagenbau entstehen.

Ausweitung der Produktpalette

Die Kunden legen immer mehr Wert auf maßgeschneidere Lösungen. So entstehen Wärmetauscher-Geometrien und Sonderluftkühler, die z.T. bis heute bestehen.

Entwicklung von Klimageräten

Die im baden-württembergischen Raum stationierten amerikanischen Besatzungstruppen waren klimatisierte Räume gewohnt. So entwickelte Roller die ersten Klimageräte mit bis zu 15 kW Kälteleistung.

Deckenluftkühler gewinnen an Popularität

Mit der Einführung des Deckenluftkühlers für kleine Kühlräume löst Roller einen Trend für flache Verdampfer aus. Der innovative Clou ist der variable Einsatz als Decken- oder Wandgerät.

Der HVS: Sinnbild für Roller Luftkühler

Für viele Kunden steht der bewährte HVS HochleistungsVerdampfer, Saugend als Synonym für die Roller Qualität. Es erfolgte eine kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und 1983 ein großer Ausbau des Angebotsspektrums. Zum Einsatz kamen eigenproduzierte Ventilatoren.

Joachim Reule tritt ins Unternehmen ein

Joachim Reule, Enkel des Firmengründers Walter Roller, tritt in das Unternehmen ein. Somit ist die dritte Generation der Familie in der Firma tätig.

Erweiterung des Standorts Gerlingen

Die Konjunktur läuft auf Hochtouren, sodass die gewachsenen Aufgaben einen Neubau für Verwaltung, Empfang und Schulung erfordern.

Trauer um Firmengründer Walter Roller

Ein Pioneer der Kältetechnik, bis zuletzt um das Wohlergehen der Firma bemüht, stirbt im Alter von 83 Jahren. Der große Tüftler und Techniker hinterlässt seinen Nachfolgern den Anspruch, den Kunden auch künftig effiziente und auf Dauer zuverlässige Produkte anzubieten. Als neuer Geschäftsführer nimmt Joachim Reule diese Aufgabe an.

Entwicklung der Baureihe FHV/T

Zu Erfüllung des dynamisch wachsenden Marktes entwickelt Roller die modulare Luftkühlerbaureihe FHV/T.

Erstes digitales Auswahlprogramm

Mit der Einführung des digitalen Auswahlprogramms bietet Roller bereits früh die Möglichkeit einer exakten Produktauslegung entsprechend den individuellen Anforderungen.

Leistungssteigerung durch innenberippte Rohre

Durch die Verwendung von innenberippten Rohren wird die Leistung der Verdampfer-Baureihen um durchschnittlich 30% erhöht.

Änderung in der Geschäftsführung

Kurt Reule geht nach über 45 Jahren erfolgreicher Tätigkeit als Geschäftsführer in den Ruhestand. Werner Rose, langjähriges Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung wird neben Joachim Reule zum weiteren Geschäftsführer ernannt.

Zertifizierte Leistungen von der ersten Stunde

Vertrauen und Qualität sind die wichtigsten Attribute einer guten Geschäftsbeziehung. Diesen Anspruch untermauer Roller durch die Zertifizierung seiner Produktdaten durch das unabhängige Eurovent-Zertifizierungsprogramm. Und das seit der Gründung des Programms.

Umstellung auf EC-Ventlilatortechnik

Roller ist eines der ersten Luftkühlerhersteller, der seine komplette Verdampferbaureihe auf die energieeffiziente EC-Ventilatortechnik umstellt. Getreu der Unternehmensphilosophie: „Hohe Leistung bei minimalem Energieverbrauch“

Vollständiger Korrosionsschutz für die Gewerbekälte

Die unterschiedlichen Korrosionsarten wurden in der Gewerbekälte lange unterschätzt. Roller implementiert als erstes Unternehmen eine breite standardseitige Korrosionsschutzpalette für diese Anwendungen.

Neues Lager und Logistik Zentrum eröffnet

Das Logistik Zentrum mit seinem Hochregallager gewährleistet die hohe Verfügbarkeit und den zügigen Versand vieler Verdampfer- Baureihen und -größen, sowie von eiligen Ersatzteilen.

Baumusterprüfung für Wärmetauscher

Roller ist der erste Hersteller, der eine Baumusterprüfung für Wärmetauscher vom TÜV erhält. Damit wird die hohe Effizienz von Kreislaufverbundsystemen bescheinigt.

Roller kühlt auch im maritimen Bereich

Proviant-Kühlung und Klimatisierungs-Aufgaben werden auch zur See zuverlässig erledigt. Für die AIDA Clubschiffe werden Luftkühler für alle Kühlräume an Bord in spezieller Hygieneausführung gefertigt.

Plug and Play

Roller macht es seinen Kunden leicht und baut das Regelungssystem werksseitig auf Wunsch gleich mit ein. Dadurch wird eine schnelle und einfache Inbetriebnahme und eine maximale Energieeffizienz des Systems garantiert.

Eigenes Standbein in Asien

Die Vertriebsaktivitäten in Asien haben eine lange, erfolgreiche Geschichte, die nun mit einem Joint-Venture als Roller Thailand Ltd in Bangkok fortgeführt werden.

Krenn ergänzt Geschäftsführung

Wolfgang Krenn (Mitte), langjähriger Vertriebsleiter, übernimmt die Geschäftsführerposition des sich in den Ruhestand begebenen Werner Rose (rechts). Bis heute wird das Unternehmen von Joachim Reule (links) und Wolfgang Krenn geleitet.

Erweiterung der Produktionskapazität im Werk II

Werk II mit seinen Montagelinien für die Verdampferbaureihen DLK und HVS geht in Betrieb. Ziel ist es, im Roller-Lager einen kontinuierlichen Bestand an kurzfristig verfügbaren Geräten aufrecht zu erhalten.

Optimiertes Lamellensystem für CO2 Tiefkühlanwendungen

Für den Einsatz von CO2 in der Tiefkühlung entwickelt Roller ein optimiertes Wärmetauscher System für Verdampfer, das den spezifischen Anforderungen des CO2s (PS 80bar!) an kleine Rohrdurchmesser von 9,52 mm, gepaart mit einem maximalen Lamellenabstand von 12 mm entspricht.

Roller, heute und in Zukunft

Als international tätiges Familienunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Gerlingen bei Stuttgart steht Walter Roller seit 75 Jahren für Qualität, Leistung und vertrauensvolle Partnerschaft. Als zukunftsorientiertes Traditionsunternehmen werden wir mit unserem breit gefächerten und energieeffizienten Wärmetauscherprodukten, vom Tresenverdampfer bis zum Industrieluftkühler, auch weiterhin Verantwortung für unsere Zukunft übernehmen.